What If Travels: Australia and New Zealand

G’day Cobbers!

Gavin back for a late edition of the blogs. I haven’t had the chance to write so I made sure I had the time today to write. so here I am!

So, there has been one area of the world I that I have been wanting to write about for quite some time now, but I actually know almost nothing about this area of the world. This area is Oceana (more specifically Australia). As someone who loves to study the world, you would think I would know quite a bit about this part of the world, but the only true info I know is that the accents are amazing and everything wants to kill you (that last one a joke obviously). So, with this in mind, please be easy on me with my suggestions.

So, I would be flying into Sydney more than likely, as that is one of its most popular cities with some of the most to do. My first stop would be to the beach, more specifically, the Sydney opera house, which is one of my favorite wonders in the world. My goal would be to visit the Opera House while they are putting on a show, because who can say that they have done that.sydney_opera_house-700x530.jpg

Sydney Opera House, Sydney, Australia

After that, I would spend a day at the beach, because Australia is to have some of the most beautiful beaches in the world, so why not take a little break from the world and just enjoy the sun (even though I get sunburn very easily). The day after I would find a boat to take me to go scuba diving in the Great Barrier Reef. You have all watched Finding Nemo, right? Well, it takes place there and it is gorgeous. It is full of life and color that you can only see from right there (just in case you guys didn’t connect the dots yet lol)

great-barrier-reef.jpg

Great Barrier Reef, Australia

Next, I would head to the countryside and take a look at the outback. Opposed to the wilderness I am used to in the Midwest United States, this is basically a giant Plains/Desert Hybrid. The wildlife is so diverse and unlike anything you can find anywhere else (think Koalas, Kangaroos, other animals starting with K). Getting a chance to find these animals in their native landscape would be a great opportunity that I would not want to pass up. Plus, while I am in the outback, I would visit Uluru (don’t know what it is, look up a picture, you’ll recognize it).

The next stop is New Zealand, Home to lord of the rings and some of the craziest warriors of all time. I would first want to visit some of the places visited in the Lord of the Rings movies, as well as visit a hobbit hole (even though my 6-foot 7-inch self would never fit in one. There is a reason New Zealand was picked for this movie, and that is because of how Fantasy It looks, in fact the Cover image of this blog is New Zealand, so now you can see what I mean.

Ta-Moko-600x900.jpg

Maori Face Tattoo (design now popularized by Polynesian History)

And lastly, I would try to find a Maori Tribe. The Maori were the Native people of New Zealand and some of the best fighters the ancient world has seen (also a bit crazy but that is to be expected). These people tattooed their faces with each kill and made the Haka Dance in order to intimidate the enemy. Even in ancient times, they had perfected psychological warfare, doing everything from tattooing their faces, running into battle naked, and even eating the bodies of their fallen enemies. While in modern times these traditions have fallen into stories and history, they still exist, just more peacefully than in the past, passing on their traditions and culture. I would love to see how they live in the modern era and compare it to other indigenous people of the world.

Well, that is about it for today so I will have to say cheers and leave. If you liked my post tonight, feel free to give it a like or follow me on Facebook or WordPress (links are all below). Thank you, guys, and I will see you all soon!

Ni Mingtian Jian!

Gavin Williamson

Photo Credit: Cover Photo: https://wallpaperscraft.com/download/new_zealand_mountains_flowers_lake_105145/1920×1080

Opera House: https://whatson.cityofsydney.nsw.gov.au/events/sydney-opera-house-the-opera

Great Barrier Reef: http://www.businessinsider.com/why-you-should-visit-the-great-barrier-reef-2016-6

Maori Tattoo: http://www.cuded.com/2013/06/35-awesome-maori-tattoo-designs/

Leave a Reply

