What If Travels: Thailand

S̄wạs̄dī txn b̀āy thuk khn! (สวัสดีตอนบ่ายทุกคน!)

Well, I did not have English today so I was able to find a few minutes to sit down and blog. I am done with finals in like 2 weeks, then I have a bunch of free time that I can dedicate to this. A little side note though. Next Tuesday and Wednesday, there will probably not be a blog. There might be depending on what happens, but I will just have to play it by year. Anyway, onto travel stuff!

My Location today is Thailand, which is honestly one of the most beautiful places in the world in my opinion and home to one of my favorite travel bloggers. Thailand is a country in Southeast Asia that is home to magnificent buildings, dense forests, and probably one of the most confusing languages I have ever tried to learn. But while this dense and humid country has a lot of forest and untamed terrain, it still holds many giant metropolitan area, Such as its capital city, Bangkok, where I would start my journey.

For those who are into it, Bangkok has a very rich and open nightlife that many people travel exclusively for. While I would stay away from these areas, I would still like to mention it for those who are looking to party a bit overseas. My first stop would be to see the Grand Palace, which is in the middle of the city. This used to be the Royal palace a few hundred years back and still seems to hold these characteristics. This area seems bigger than you would think, with some kinds of architecture that you could only see in television programs. One problem though for a visit, Thailand is right on the Equator, so in order to not be completely exhausted from the heat, I would suggest going during the winter (If you live in America, imagine the Weather in Florida, but hotter.)grand-palace.jpg

Grand Palace, Bangkok, Thailand

Bangkok is also full of many different flea markets where you can browse different vendors’ wears. And you do not need to worry about money. One US dollar is worth 34.55 Thai Baht (And for Europeans, one euro is 37.63 baht). You will have plenty of money to spend on anything you may find, such as Coconut Ice Cream, Pets, Clothes, or Fun Souvenirs that you can’t find anywhere else. According to TripAdvisor, the top rated Market in the Bangkok area is the Chatuchak Weekend Market (ตลาดนัดสวนจตุจักร in Thai) I would start there. 9235670959_cc19268866_b.jpg

Chatuchak Weekend Market, Bangkok, Thailand

Next I would head into the jungle and look for some temples. Some of the best shots of Thailand and Southeast Asia itself is of the golden temples peeking out from the forest. This is what I want to find. Once again, I would only do this in the winter, as to make sure that I will not get sick from the heat. Many of these structures are ancient and covered in moss and of legend. I would try to find a group of people who know a bit about the area and see if I can get any information about the area and what happened with it. I would then try to find a newer temple, one only about a couple hundred years old, that way I would be able to see the differences between the 2 time periods.

tom-tum-goong.jpg

Tom Yam Goong at a restaurant and Phuket, Thailand

And lastly, you cannot go to Thailand without trying the food. Luckily, we have a few Thai Restaurants in my hometown, so I have had the chance to try it a bit. Now, if you want the stuff you have tried at home, stick to a big city. For the real taste of Thai, head to a small town somewhere far away from the city. This is where you will find the True Thai flavors. The sweet, the spicy, and the savory, all joined together in one single dish (I should not have written this blog before eating)

Anyway, I hope you guys enjoyed! Don’t forget to Like and subscribe down below for all of the updates on new material and Surveys. I post on the Facebook page daily, so follow me there to get all of the updates. Thank you guys and I will see you all tomorrow! K̄hxbkhuṇ phwk khuṇ læa c̄hạn ca h̄ĕn khuṇ phrùngnī̂! (ขอบคุณพวกคุณและฉันจะเห็นคุณพรุ่งนี้!)

Ni Mingtian Jian!

Gavin Williamson

Photo Credit: Jungle Temple: https://www.tumblr.com/search/jungle%20thailand

Grand Palace: http://www.planetware.com/bangkok/grand-palace-tha-bk-bg.htm

Weekend Market: http://www.travelspeak.in/bangkok-chatuchak-weekend-market/

Food: http://www.phuket.com/cuisine/toptenfood.htm

Leave a Reply

