Price Checks: Food and Eating Cheap

Hey Everyone!

I have a rough draft paper due tonight! I will start it right after this blog is done (as I have a few hours) and then if I don’t get it done then, I will finish it after work tonight. So yeah, I went top Kirksville a lot this week (Wednesday and yesterday), and now I am really looking forward to attending Truman. But it also gave me an idea, ways to save money on certain of vacations that can also help for college students.

Now, a lot of students at a university have meal plans and money that Is put on their accounts at the beginning of the year, but there are still things that you have to pay for outside campus. So here are just a few ideas to keep in mind when thinking about food.

As I have said, colleges have meal plans, and in some ways, hotels do as well. When I go on vacation, I check to make sure my hotel has free breakfast in the morning for guests. When I was in Florida 2 years ago, the hotel I booked for my family had an entire restaurant in it including a continental breakfast. I know this is a sales tactic, but the free breakfast was complete crap, while the restaurant had amazing fresh food and offered a discount to people staying there. This is a nice little edition that hotels give people in order to make their stay easier and more comfortable.

Now when you talk about going out to eat, there are a few things that you can do. One thing that Kirksville has that I have always wanted to go to is a Pay-as-you-can Restaurant/café. In Kirksville, it is called “Take Root”, a little café that sells organic food and drinks for a price that you want to pay…literally. They basically give you a suggested price, and you can pay at that price, below it, or above it. if you pay slightly more they suggested, that remaining money will go towards giving food or a meal to a person who can’t afford it. when I went a few months ago, I got a soda (I think it was a weird tea flavor that I don’t really remember), and my friend got a Chai Tea. From how it seems, a lot of big cities and college towns have these hidden somewhere, so try searching around to see if you can find one.

add4979332ff6cd15d1548b2fd441b35_1479266435

Inside Take Root. Kirksville, Missouri, USA

Another thing is pretty simple, make your own food. A lot of people when they go in vacation don’t want to work or cook or anything of the sort, but this is actually one of the best ways to save money. Unless you are going for fast food everyday (no judging), then this would be the next best thing you would get the chance to buy local foods and ingredients, as well as getting to make local dishes or put a local spin on one of your favorites. College Students, your Dorm area should have pots and pans that you can check out, more than likely at your front desk. Get a few friends together, split the cost, and have a little dinner with each other. Throw in a good movie or YouTube video and you’ve got a fun night I think.

And my last tip, especially in a large city or abroad (whether travel or study), is street food. You can find these All over the above-mentioned areas and even in some smaller towns. My hometown only has a single hotdog vender in a corner near a barber shop and it seems he always has good business. Abroad though, this is even better, as it will more than likely be extremely cheap, especially in China, Japan, or Korea, where street food reigns supreme. China has many local dishes on just about every corner, as well as it being some of the cheapest in the world. They are full of savory, spicy, or sweet varieties of just about anything. Just be careful on what you try. Japan is basically the same, except focusing a lot on seafood and cooking rather than adding spices. Korea is probably one of the Barbeque capitals of the world and in Seoul, you will find Korea BBQ all over the place. In the USA, New York, Chicago, San Francisco, and Oregon are really big locations for street food, so if you live there, you are in luck.

Well I think that is just about it for today. I hope you guys enjoyed and if you did, feel free to like and follow me here and on Facebook. All of those are right below. I hope to see you guys soon!

Ni MIngtian Jian!

Gavin Williamson

Photo Credit: Korean Street Food: http://www.followmefoodie.com/2010/04/korean-street-food-in-korea-2/

Take Root: https://www.zomato.com/photos/pv-res-18415100-u_M0ODI5OTEwMDk4

Leave a Reply

