What If Travels: Russia

Dobro pozhalovat’! (Добро пожаловать!),

Pretty good day so far, We had a face painting day in Chinese class today, went out to eat a Buffalo Wild Wings (Parmesan Garlic Wings are the Bomb), and later we are hanging out and play cards against humanity. There are pictures below!

Just some fun in Chinese class

Anyway, while today was a lot of fun with china, I thought I would write about another Asian country (mostly due to the fact I have already written about china. Today is all about Russia (Россия)

To make this clear, I am not a huge fan of Russian or even American politics so I will not mention anything about either side on here. My goal here is to show everyone the many cultural centers of the world, not to sway any one opinion to reign over another. I show you worlds, which is all. Now, into the winter.

While Russia is instantly recognized as a cold land that is always snowing, as is proven by my Russian pen pal’s Facebook posts (Привет, Ира! Сообщите мне, когда у вас будет такая возможность!), there is much more than the cold winters to look at. Summertime in Russia is actually a very pleasant temperature, not to hot or too cold, which I vastly different from the bi-polar weather of Illinois. Russia also has one of the greatest varieties within a single country, as it spans into Europe and all over Asia. Its architecture is recognized all over the world, due to the famous onion domes of St. Basil Cathedral. But anyway, into the country.moscow_city_kremlin_bridge_capital_russia_flag_59197_602x339.jpg

The Kremlin (Red Square can be seen in the background), Moscow, Russia

I would start in Moscow, which is the capital of Russia and home to sights such as the Kremlin and Red Square. These are the first places I will be heading. These are some of the most familiar sights in all of Russia and are steeped in so much history that it takes a minute to just comprehend. The Kremlin is home to The Russian president, Vladimir Putin, and is basically the equivalent to visiting the white house if you visit Washington D.C. The red square is where they hold the mummified body of Vladimir Lenin after he died. Lenin was the person who started the Soviet Union (not a great thing for westerners but it is an important location and historic nonetheless) alongside Joseph Stalin, who was the leader of the USSR during World War 2.

Probably the most important place in the city for travelers is the giant cathedral of Saint Basil. This is one of the most easily identifiable sights in the world due to its size, color, and design. If you do not know this by name, it is the giant ice-cream cone looking place that I used as the featured image to the link. This church was order to be built by Tsar Ivan IV Vasilyevich, or better known as “Ivan the Terrible” in 1522 to mark to capture of the Kazan from the Mongol forces. This church has stood for almost 500 years and yet it still seems to amaze anyone who sees it.red-square-wallpaper-5.jpg

Red Square and St Basil’s Cathedral, Moscow, Russia

I would next head slightly away to a town called Zelenograd to visit a pen pal of mine (the same one I mentioned earlier). I would then see what she had to recommend, as this is the largest country in the world, and see if she would mind showing me a few places. I obviously do not speak Russian. I have tried one time and failed miserably, so having a native speaker with me would help out a ton.

Assuming that she would be willing to come along with me, I would then head to St Petersburg, named after the Tsar Peter the Great. This is the home of the Hermitage, the greatest museum in Russia. This has works of art from all times in Russian history, from ancient to modern times. I would also see if I could find an Aero-Space museum as well. Russia was huge into space and going there, so I would to learn about the 60’s and the space race from their point of view.tour-places-to-see-heritage-museum-1.jpg

Inside the Hermitage, St Petersbug, Russia

One last thing is I would love to go to a Russian ballet. I am a giant music, theatre, and dance geek, I admit it. But Russia has always, and I mean always been famous for their ballet. Most of the great composers of the most known ballets have been Russian. Swan Lake was composed by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, one of the greatest composers of all time. He also wrote the nutcracker suite, which is one of the most iconic songs of all classical time. After that, I would try to find more fun kinds of dancing, whether it be finding some of Russia’s night life, or going to find a group of Cossack Dancers. Look up the Cossack dance online and you will know the dance I am talking about. My favorite clip of it is from the TV show “Superstars of dance”. Search that show and Russia Group and you will find it.132091644_51n.jpg

Russian National Ballet performing “Swan Lake”

That is all I have to say for this. And I have only touched on 2 cities. I will have to write another post as well. But hey, it keeps the ideas flowing. If you liked this post, feel free to like it and please, follow me here and on Facebook below to get updates on the newest material. That is all! That is all and I will see you all tomorrow! (Вот и все! Это все, и завтра я увижу вас всех!)

Ni Mingtian Jian!

Gavin Williamson

Photo Credit: St Basil’s: https://wall.alphacoders.com/big.php?i=380548

Chinese Photos: Me

Kremlin: https://wallpaperscraft.com/wallpaper/moscow_city_kremlin_bridge_capital_russia_flag_59197

Red Square: http://wallpaper-gallery.net/single/red-square-wallpaper/red-square-wallpaper-5.html

Hermitage: https://www.insider-tour.com/Hermitage-Museum.html

Ballet: http://news.xinhuanet.com/english/photo/2013-01/09/c_132091644_5.htm

Leave a Reply

