What If Travels: Italy and Sicily

Benvenuti a tutti!

I have to go back to school tomorrow (I wish spring break could last forever!) but oh well, at least I will be able to see some school friends again! So, as you all may know, I am a foreign language major in college. I know English and Spanish and I am learning Mandarin Chinese, Arabic, and lastly Italian. So, I have obviously learned quite a bit of research and studying on the cultures of these languages’ homes, so I thought that I would be able to give you some great ideas when it comes to a trip to Italia.

In my opinion, Italy has one of the strongest cultural influence in the whole world. It can actually be a bit potent (in a good way I should say) as you can find Italian designs, architecture, and probably best of all, the food just about anywhere you go. In my town, we have multiple fast food Italian places, and even one restaurant owned by some Italian immigrants (if you end up coming to Quincy anytime soon, you need to try Tiramisu’). But, a lot of times, these are melded in with the local culture into a fusion, and while I may love some good culinary fusion, these take away from the original.

I would start my Italian tour in Roma, probably one of my favorite cities in the world. While Rome may be a center for modern everything now, it is an ancient city that is more than 2000 years old, and you will see bits of that all over the city. I would have 3 days here, 1 exploring the new, such as the Museums and shopping center and modern restaurants. I would then spend a day exploring old Rome, looking at the empire age ruins and buildings and temples (the roman aqueducts are amazing). I would then spend the 3rd day finding where the old meets the new, places built alongside old relics or the new embracing the old, such as a modern roman bathhouse. While in Rome, take some time to go see some of the more famous locations, such as the Spanish Steps.rome-wallpaper-14.jpg

Vatican City, Rome

From there I would head north towards Milan and Genoa. Milan is probably my 3rd favorite city in the world, as it is a culture center of the world and also the world capital for fashion (which I use to design). While in Milan, you must visit some clothing stores as they are supposed to have the best fashion in the world. Genoa is more of a 2nd tier city in my opinion, as it is not as well-known as Venice, Milan, or Rome, but it is still a big city so you would get to see how people live in a large city. While in the north, head towards Pisa and see the leaning tower, you will not regret it.906730-tower-of-pisa

Pisa, Italy

From there, I would head towards Venice (Venezia in Italian). This is a classic Italian staple, so take the chance to enjoy an amazing cliché and take a ride on a gondola, it is a once in a lifetime opportunity, so don’t miss it. Venice is beautiful and ancient, so enjoy the sites as city meets nature.

From there, head southward. As you are heading down, I would stop by the runs of Pompeii. If you do not know the story of Pompeii, look it up. This would intrigue you to visit this site. I would keep heading straight south until I reach the southernmost tip. I would spend a day there, enjoying the beaches that Italy has to offer, before I head to Sicily

.159952-004-FF5B2BDF.jpg

The ruins of Pompeii, Italy

Sicily is an island country that is off the cost of Italy. It is famous for its Vineyards and this is where I would go. If you get the chance, take a tour of the Vineyards there, as they are supposed to be the best in the world. Who knows, they might give you some wine samples as well.Palermo_Duomo.jpg

Palermo, Sicily

I would then head to the capital city of Palermo and spend a day there before flying back home. Italy is a beautiful land that offers travelers many sites and experiences to have. You cannot plan everything with Italy, however. With this country, you need to leave a few days open, as the world will pull you towards many different experiences all the time, and one of those days, you need to take it.

Ni Mingtian Jian!

Gavin Williamson

Photo Credit: Vineyard: http://pcwallart.com/tuscany-wallpaper-4.html

Vatican City: http://eskipaper.com/rome-wallpaper-14.html#gal_post_42203_rome-wallpaper-14.jpg

Pisa: http://feelgrafix.com/906730-tower-of-pisa.html

Pompeii: https://www.britannica.com/place/Pompeii

Palermo: http://www.italiangoodnews.com/palermo-the-top-10-against-bad-stereotypes/

Leave a Reply

