What If Travels: Ireland

Top o’ the mornin’ to ye ladies (Shout Out Jack!!),

Happy Paddy’s day everyone! The day where everyone pretends to be Irish and drink a crap ton! And you know what I think would be a grand idea to get in the spirit…take a little visit to the isle again (since I’m too young to drink). So, time to take a trip to the place that is full of amazing accents, Ireland.

When I think Ireland, I instantly think of the countryside and the culture surrounding Ireland. For instance, Irish step dancing is my favorite form of dance and the countryside is considered to be one of the most beautiful scenes in the world (I have family who have visited Ireland and they were in love with it). While I, most of the time, try to stick to the cities, I, on this trip, will be trying to stick to the smaller towns.

Now obviously, I will be exploring Dublin a bit, as it is where I would fly in from. Dublin, I believe, is the biggest city in Ireland, and it is also the home of my favorite band. I, in complete honesty, do not know ANYTHING about Dublin, so most of my time there would be random wandering and asking the locals about interesting sites. If you are old enough, I would say go to a bar there, maybe find a fun Irish drinking buddy to hang out with, and just have a fun night.dublin-2-g.jpg

Dublin, Ireland

From the looks of it, Dublin has a good mix of big city and small town aspects. It seems to have different sections for what you would want. The smaller sections have a lot of old buildings and shops that you would find in a quaint little village. There is a shop in a St Louis suburb that has a few British and Irish shops, complete with the building style. This is the kind of thing that you would find all over this part of Dublin.

From there I would head into the countryside and head north. This is where you will start to find the small villages and the true colors of the country. This is where you will find all the old traditions and values that make this country so unique. Even within a country as modernized as it is, there are still some places in the isle where people still speak Gaelic or stick to their old morals. While these may be a bit hard to find, it would still be interesting to see how the live compared to the rest of the country.2533-33110.jpg

A bridge in the middle of the Irish countryside

One thing that I would be interested in seeing is a Step dancing show. I have already said that I really like that style of dance, so If I could find a place where there was a show, I would try to go to it to help be immersed in the culture and traditions.

One quick thing to warn you about before I leave. The slang in Ireland is a bit difficult at first. They have a completely different way of speaking compared to us in the west. You will understand quite a few sayings, but then there are other phrases you have no idea what they are saying. For example, Irish people pronounce Jesus and beating with an emphasized A sound and dropping the G sound at the end of the word (making them pronounced as “Jaysis” and “Baytin”. Other phrases are not so clear, such as the term Scoops, which can mean a Drink. “ye wanna get some scoops (sometimes with a SH sound at the beginning), yeah?” is just a person asking if you want to get a drink (Irish people also add another question at the end of a question, almost like asking twice).

Well that is about it. sorry about the lack of examples in this blog, I have a paper for English I still need to finish. While you are in Ireland and you have time though, you could cross the border into Northern Ireland and visit the city of Belfast. Other than that, I am about out of suggestions. I hope you guys enjoy and don’t forget to subscribe below. Feicfidh mé tú amárach!

Ni Mingtian Jian!

Gavin Williamson

Photo credit: Castle: http://wallpapersafari.com/ireland-desktop-wallpaper/

Dublin: https://englishstudio.com/locations/dublin-language-school/

Bridge: http://www.frommers.com/slideshows/818157-5-best-small-towns-and-villages-across-ireland

Leave a Reply

