What If Travels: India

Sabhee ko namaskaar (सभी को नमस्कार),

Well, here I am again. I had a bit of a late night last night so if a few things end up sounding a bit off, that is probably the reason why (either that or my scatterbrained-ness). Anyway, I never thought that this blog series would do as well as it has. I have gotten more comments on these posts than I have on any other posts, whether it be through WordPress, Facebook, or other apps I use to share these posts. Well anyway, I am very glad that you guys like these. So here you go, my take on a trip to my favorite country, India.

I have always been fascinated by India, mostly since this is a culture that has stuck with its traditions and values for thousands of years, even when these values are different from other parts of the planet. This is a world of extreme color, faith, and traditions, and there for you will need to treat it as such. In that case, I would pick a time to visit when during the time of a festival, such as the festival of janmashtami which celebrates the Hindu god Krishna’s Birthday, or the Holi festival (or as many people know it as the festival of colors or love). I would be more interested in seeing the Holi festival so I would visit during the second week of march (this year the festival was march 12 through march 13).

Devotees-Try-To-Form-A-Human-Pyramid-To-Break-Dahi-Handi-During-The-Janamashtmi-Celebration.jpg

The Festival of Janmashtami

I would start in the capital city of New Delhi and explore there for about a day. Most of the cities in India, from my knowledge, are about the same activity wise between big and small cities. You won’t be missing very much in a small town except for the festival (which I would head to Mumbai for). I would, of course, go to the embassy first to get money, and explore the capital city, but the major sites I believe would only take one day. The day before Holi, I would take a train to Mumbai and prepare for the festivities.

Mumbai is the largest city in India, so it would probably be the best place for sight-seeing. Another great thing about India is that they incorporated their ancient culture into their new one, and the same goes for their old buildings and architecture. In India, you can find many, many different buildings that have lasted centuries, even amongst the skyscrapers of a big city. Mumbai is where you will do your major shopping, while the north of India will be your culture. Before you head north, however, I would recommend heading south to the beaches. India is supposed to have very beautiful white sand beaches and, who knows, if you have time, you might be able to hop aboard a ship to visit Sri Lanka.

I would now head back to New Delhi because, by the looks of it, it seems to be a very old city that would be amazing to explore. I have talked about moving around cities like Paris or Shanghai, but this is uncharted territory for me. I have been to a city older than 300 years old (perks of living in America I guess) so this would be completely mindboggling. With a city, this old, you get to see 2 things.

1: you would get to see the beginning of the country. In this you get to experience what made the city last the centuries.

And 2: you get to take a step back in time. Everything was so different back then, and so being among these old buildings, it almost makes you feel like you have time traveled.

I have a few more recommendations before I go. First, visit the wonders. India is full of them. The Taj Mahal, the Agra fort, the tower of victory, the Karni Mata, and the Charminar gate are just a few examples. To fully know where you are visiting, you would need to see these places.Agra-Fort-(India).jpg

Inside the Agra Fort

And lastly, the River Ganges is the most sacred spot on the whole Sub-continent. This is where Hindus from all over the world aim to visit due to its religious meaning. I don’t know the full myth and I am not going to try to explain it in case I offend anyone by messing it up, but if you want to fully experience what life is like to local people there, then visit it. A little note though, I wouldn’t step into the river itself.Varanasi_Ganga_Holy_River_Ganges.jpg

The Ganges River

Well, I hope you guys enjoyed, don’t forget to subscribe for updates. You can also like our Facebook page for updates as well. main tumase kal milata hoon! (मैं तुमसे कल मिलता हूँ!)

Ni Mingtian Jian!

Gavin Williamson

Photo Credit: Holi: http://ukphotosgallery.com/happy-holi-2017-hd-images-wallpapers-for-facebook-whatsapp/

Janmashtami:https://www.askideas.com/15-best-pictures-and-photos-of-janmashtmi-festival/

Agra Fort: http://insightsindia.blogspot.com/2013/09/agra-fort-mughal-architectural.html

Ganges River: http://www.bluebird-electric.net/oceanography/Rivers/The_River_Ganges.htm

Leave a Reply

