What If Travels: France

Bonjour à tous!

As you may have guessed, today is another What if day, and today, we are visiting a country that many people would love to visit and that has, in my opinion, one of the hardest languages to learn (I can never figure it out). So, everyone, say hello to France!

When people think of this country, their mind instantly goes to Paris and the monuments that live there. The Tour Eiffel, the Arc de Triumphe, and the Louvre, when there are many other magnificent places to find in this world. And I hope that I can show these to you.

My few days would be in the city of lights, Paris, exploring many of the monuments and museums that make the city famous. I would love to climb the Eiffel Tower and would like to explore the louvre, looking at works of art such as Michelangelo’s David and the Mona Lisa, both of which are shown there. While in Paris, I would also explore many of the famous restaurants that the country is famous for. I have had French cooking one other time in my life, when I visited the French section of Epcot, and I do have to say, it was very good food (the desserts were the best thing ever).

I would also take the time and do some very cliché things (because why not). I would first try to find a store and get a beret because it would fun to say that I got one in France, and it would be a fun memory and souvenir to bring back. I would also, if I were dating a person at that time, would buy a lock, decorate it, and place it on the bridge in Paris. If you don’t know what I mean, I will add a picture below!Add-Lock-Pont-des-Arts-Bridge-Paris

I would next head to the south and visit one place I have always wanted to see. The south of France has beautiful lavender plantations that, at a certain time of year, turn into gorgeous fields of purple, with a scent that you can’t even describe. France is also famous for their wine and vineyards (as is the island of Sicily off the coast of Italy). I would make an attempt to visit both of these. I would also see if there was a way I could bring some lavender and/or wine with me back to the states, as a sort of unique gift.

While in France, I would also want to visit one of my favorite castles in the world. The castle at Mont St. Michel. This castle is not able to be visited 2 times a year, due to a rise in the ocean, so if the tides are right, I would make an effort to visit them. I have never seen a real castle (our town has a Mediterranean one from the early 1900’s but it isn’t “real” I would say) and visiting this would supply me with being able to say that I have been to one, and giving me a great view of the ocean and town around it. this castle is beat out by Neuschwanstein in Germany. A picture of St Michel will be below.thumb-1920-690413.jpg

Well that is about all in regards to France. If you are from there and feel I missed something, please feel free to let me know in the comments. Thank you, guys.

Ni MIngtian Jian!

Gavin Williamson

Photo Credit:

Lavender field http://www.nationalgeographicexpeditions.com/expeditions/provence-hiking/detail

Lock Bridge https://www.popsugar.com/smart-living/photo-gallery/31147739/image/33389869/Add-Lock-Pont-des-Arts-Bridge-Paris

Mont St Michel https://wall.alphacoders.com/by_sub_category.php?id=217805

Leave a Reply

