What If Travels: Spain

Hey World.

So, it seems like a lot of people liked my “What if UK” blog so I figured I would continue with the trend. Today, I am writing about a place that many of my friends have visited thanks to Spanish class (but I have always been to broke to go to). So now, Say “¿Qué pasa?” to España.

Spain is one of the most interesting countries for me to study, and one of my top locations on where to study. What I find amazing about this world is that they combine the old with the new, keeping their old and new cultures folded into one. If you go down the streets of Madrid, you will catch glimpse of this exact world they live in, and this is where I would start my adventure.

Upon Leaving the Airport and exchanging my money to Euros, I would head straight to the Puerta Del Sol (which means Gate of the sun in Spanish). Here you will find many sights, such as a little plaque on the ground which marks the very center of Spain (a fun little thing that is free to do). You will also see many old Spanish building, as well as the Palacio Real, or the royal palace, which is the home of the royal family. Many other find the clock in the Puerta del Sol to be beautiful and very historical. This clock has been in the plaza mayor since 1866 and it way made by the official watchmaker of the Spanish navy.

Next day I would explore all the museums around the city. Salvador Dali was from Spain, so I would visit his biggest museos (museums), which happens to be in Madrid. Nearby to that museum is El Museo de Reina Sofía which, I believe, the biggest museum in the country, housing art, artifacts, and weapons from all times of Spanish history. In between museums, I would explore random stops around the area. I have always said, one of the best ways to get to see the city is to randomly explore the area and get to see the way of life in that part of the world.

And, as many people know, shopping for keep sakes can be a lot of fun. I would say head to some local shops that sell real items from the area. Souvenir shops are always overpriced and cheaply made so try to avoid them.

Next few days I would head south toward Seville, which was the old capital of Spain during the times of Colonization. This area will be more historical with old castles, buildings, and churches that are hundreds of years old, especially in areas such as Seville, Grenada, and Gibraltar. This will also have many different Nature areas, especially near Gibraltar, where you are right on the banks of the Mediterranean Sea. If you have a free day, you could take boat trip across the sea and visit Morocco, as well as going west to visit Portugal.

After this I, would head North towards the area known as Cataluña. Fair warning, this area of Spain speaks Catalan, which is a mix of Spanish and French. They will know the Spanish you are familiar with (known as Castilian Spanish after the kingdom of Castile). In this state, you will find the city of Barcelona, which is one of the most beautiful cities in the world in my opinion, with narrow alleyways and gorgeous city skylines and view. If you are into soccer, you can visit the Fútbol stadium of the Barcelona soccer team (I forget its name) as well as visiting the stadium for Reál Madrid when you get back to Madrid. If you want, you can take a day to cross the Pyrenees mountains and visit France and Andorra.

This is about all I can say regarding Spain without making the trip entirely mine. I need to leave you room to explore and plan as well. So, I hope you guys enjoyed this and I will see you tomorrow. ¡Hasta Mañana!

Ni Mingtian Jian!

Gavin Williamson

Photo Credit to https://www.iaufrance.org/locations/spain

Leave a Reply

