A Day at Universal Studios: Wizarding World of Harry Potter

 

Hello World!

So, I have some family at Universal right now (meanwhile, I am in Illinois about to go to a giant show choir competition at my old high school) and I am completely jealous of them right now. but I figured, instead of groveling for pictures or souvenirs, I would write today’s post on my favorite part of the park, Harry Potter.

And Summer, if you get to read this, I think Lilly and Logan will like the dragon ride (see below).

The first thing that you need to do when you get to this place is to, of course, find the entrance. this will be easy if you are a giant Potter head like myself, but I have seen people looking around like crazy for dragon alley. The park makes it as obvious as possible while also keeping it relative to the books and movies. the entrance is right by the Leicester Square (just look for the giant crowd of people, it should be easy that way. you will then find yourself amidst giant buildings and shops, and the giant Gringotts Bank with the dragon at the top, who I, different from the books, dubbed as Steve.

The classic next stop is to walk to Ollivander’s to get yourself a wand. They have a giant variety to choose from, from interactive, to cheap, to characters, to custom woods. If you aren’t a big nerd who knows what their wand would be, I’ll leave a link at the bottom of the page for the Pottermore Wand Quiz, which is the most accurate quiz out there as it was created by J.K Rowling. The cheapest wand is about $35 US with Interactive wands being about $45 US, but I think that these are worth it. when I went, I ended up leaving with a cheap wand of Fleur Delacour and an interactive of Sirius Black. If you have some spare time, you can take part in a wand sorting ceremony like from the series and, after, you can buy the wand they give to you.

Another classic shop to visit in Diagon Alley Is Weasley’s Wizardly Wheezes, which is the joke shop creates by George and Fred Weasley after they dropped out of Hogwarts during Umbridge’s Tyrannical Reign. You can buy just about anything here, Every Flavour Beans (the wizard equivalent of BeanBoozled), Chocolate frogs, complete with cards, or you can even adopt a Pygmy Puff like Ginny did in the books. I bought a Purple one and named it Sparky. they shout out to the who store that you are adopting it too, which I find to be hilarious.

Next I would take the Hogwarts Express to Hogsmead, the little village next door to Hogwarts (you can see it in the background). My first stop is always Honeydukes, as it is such an Iconic location in the Books. it is basically the best candy shop in the world, with just about any candy you can think of. They also have a robe shop there (and in DA) where you can buy house robes. the price is high, but if you save up like I did, you can get one for about $100 US. It gave me the perfect opportunity to represent Hufflepuff ;-).

And finally, the ride that I mentioned at the beginning. I forget the name of it but basically, there are 2 or 3 separate courses, each with its own dragon, and the coaster is basically a duel between the 3 of them. I hate roller coasters, but my cousin and dad rode the crap out of them, so you can tell that they are legit.

There are plenty more spots, such as Knockturn Alley (the dark arts side of Diagon Alley from Chamber) and plenty more stores to explore. but I will leave that for you to discover. I hope you guys enjoy this park and get yourself some Butterbeer (it is basically cream soda with whipped cream on top and it is heaven).

Be sure to check in again tomorrow for more posts. Feel free to leave a comment or a like and feel free to follow to get the latest news on the blog.

Ni Mingtian Jian!

Gavin Williamson

Photo Credit to http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/world-news/wizarding-world-harry-potter-12-7701461

Pottermore Signup/ Quizzes: https://my.pottermore.com/account/confirm-age

 

Leave a Reply

