A Day in Estes Park, Colorado

Hey Everyone!

Quick Update. I am fairly sure I will be in Branson next Friday through Sunday. there also, now, is the possibility that I will be travelling to Los Angeles in September of this year. I am planning a trip with some friends to go to check out PAX East (a giant YouTube Convention). Just a little geek thing, Jacksepticeye or MatPat/Stephanie, if you ever see this post one day, while browsing the inter-webs, I just want to say thank you. your videos helped me to pursue many different opportunities I never would have thought of without your kind words of encouragement you give everyone on screen. I can’t wait to meet y’all.

Anyway, enough of my gushy geek things, on to my travel crap. Estes Park is a small town about an hour and a half from Denver. My dad actually worked here for a short amount of time working for the National Park there. This is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen in my whole life, that award does not come easy. everyday seems like it comes straight out of a travel magazine. So here are a few of the known, and unknown, areas I love in this town.

My absolute favorite spot in the town is that there is a little glassblower’s shop in the downtown area, tucked neatly on the corner by an Ice cream shop and a nature shop called Nature’s Own (more on that later). this place is amazing for anyone who likes fire, art, and pretty, shiny colorful things (which I love all the above). Basically, beware in advance, it is full of breakable, handmade glass plates, sculptures, and animals that you can watch be made right in front of you. As you walk into the store, you are drawn immediately to the partially walled, partially wired wall on the other side of the store, complete with the glassblower making his wears right in front of all to see. this is a memorable experience (partially due to the heat of the furnace) that will keep a clear picture in your mind. you can also get little round glass pendants on a necklace for like $5 so it is also a cheap place to get a souvenir (and they don’t break or crack, I have dropped mine plenty.)

Another location any Colorado lover knows about is its signature Rocky Mountain range, and, more specifically, Rocky Mountain National Park. As I have mentioned, my father worked at RMNP so I have had the experience of seeing the park multiple times, and each time I am continually blown away. I would say that my favorite area in the park is Aspen Glen, which is basically the place you see in pictures with the white trees and golden leaves. Beautiful! every area has their own charms, such as the rivers made of melted ice or the tundra areas in the mountains. I could go into a full episode on this park alone, so I will save you all my fanboy-ing (I did enough of that at the beginning.)

The last place is another shop that I love, because I love to check out cool little shops whenever I travel. This one is called Nature’s Own. this is a mostly science oriented store, selling Science kits, geodes and fossils, but they also sell jewelry and toys for kids. What I love about this store is the atmosphere. you walk in and it feels like a cabin almost. The employees welcome you with open arms and will answer any questions about any stone or fossil they have. they love doing what they are doing, and it shows in the store itself.

I hope you guys enjoyed and once again, I hope you guys liked it!

Ni Mingtian Jian!

Gavin Williamson

Photo credit to http://www.travelingwiththejones.com/2012/12/07/6-favorite-family-friendly-activities-in-estes-park-colorado/

 

2 thoughts on “A Day in Estes Park, Colorado

Leave a Reply

