The “True” Country

Hello World, Miss me? (in the last 2 hours)

Fair Warning, this post may have a bit of a confusing theme, but I hope to make this the best one yet. So, just hang tight and I hope you enjoy it.

Anyway, Today’s post in similar to yesterday’s in regards to the general idea of a trip. When I visit a new place, I always want to make sure that I am exploring the “True Country.” What do I mean? I am Glad you asked imaginary other part of this conversation!

When I say the term “true country”, I am meaning the part of the area that is not blended or warped in any way by outside sources. There are, of course, exceptions to this, such as Tibet in China, as it is so close to the Nepali border, or Cataluña in North-Eastern Spain, as the area is a fusion of France and Spanish cultures.

What I mean is that if I go to, say, India, I want to explore some places that are authentically Indian. I understand, a few American food places can be a godsend, but the majority of the place should be of that nation’s ethnicity.

You may be saying “this sounds simple enough”, but in reality, it is getting harder and harder. As the USA starts to spread more and more into foreign lands, we will start to build more McDonald’s, more Walmarts, and more Starbucks than you can imagine. As this happens, it becomes harder to find places that are Secluded enough to not have these Staples of the growing world, which, kind of harms my main reason for travel, to experience different worlds and ways of life, not that of a “Miniature United States”

As I have said many times, these can be hard to find to find, I give you some ideas on just what you might want using China as an example (Because I am in a Chinese Language class and it is a lot of what we talk about). Based on my knowledge, there are 3 different ways you could go when it comes to finding the “True Country”

There are your Tier-One Cities. These are the Classic big cities that you have all heard about. these areas, such as Beijing, Guangzhou, and Shanghai, are all quite westernized, which I have no problem with, but it is pretty hard to view these as the “True Country”. these areas are good, However, For those that are traveling for the first time or are looking for familiar brands overseas.

We then have your Tier-Two Cities, which are the fastest growing cities in China at the moment. in most other countries, this is where you will find the best of both worlds. In cities, such as Chengdu, Xi’an, Harbin, and Chongqing, you will find familiar brands, but also a fair share of local culture, such as old buildings that you would see in postcards, as well as festivals (such as the Ice Festival in Harbin), and world renowned wonders (such as the tomb of Emperor Qin Shi Huang and the Terracotta army in Xi’an).

We then have, as I have mentioned in the previous blog, the countryside, which is what you imagine if you think of the country you are visiting. this is where you will find the beautiful buildings, and the true way of life in that world. These areas of the world are what I refer to as the “True Country” exactly for that reason. It is in that part of the area that you will see the true life of the world you are visiting. Thank y’all. I hope that I see all of you guys again tomorrow!

Ni MIngtian Jian!

-Gavin Williamson

Photo credit to given to http://www.fise.fr/en/fise-world-china-chengdu-2015/news/welcome-chengdu

Leave a Reply

